Prayer Bead Devotion: Just Be

A bead 'n a prayer

“Be still, and know that I AM GOD.” You know how much I love that verse from Psalm 46:10. It’s shown up several times here as the basis of prayer bead devotions. It’s even on the wall of my studio. Every morning, I light a candle, stand in front of the quote, and read it slowly, taking in each word. It sets the tone for the day, reminding me to just “be still.”

During Session #1 of The Upper Room’s Academy for Spiritual Formation, one of our faculty members, Liz Canham, taught us a new way of meditating on this verse. She suggested that we repeat the verse, each time dropping part of it, like this:

Be still, and know that I AM GOD.

Be still, and know that I AM.

Be still, and know.

Be still.

Be.

I love this way of meditating on the verse. Each statement is powerful…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

